Why I didn’t write about being a Latina woman

I think that the main reason I didn’t write about being a woman or Latina as part of my autobiography is because I’ve learned that it’s unprofessional to do so. Bringing up anything controversial is considered bad form and I didn’t want to publish my views on my race, gender, or sexuality online for the world to see.

I’m well aware of how my gender and culture influence me as a teacher, but I struggle with how, or to what extent, I should make it an overt part of my teaching. In many ways, I feel that what I share about myself will vary between grades, schools, classes, and students. But I also agree that “we need to put front and center the very things we do not want in our teaching, the very things we do not even know are in our teaching.” (Kumashiro 41) For me this all depends on understanding what we mean by “front and center”.

Leave a Reply

